Elton John and Bernie Taupin Ready New Album The Diving Board

Elton John recently went back into the studio to record his thirty-first studio album with lyrics by long-time compadre Bernie Taupin.  The album, entitled The Diving Board was recorded in Los Angeles in a marathon ten-day writing and recording session.  In a recent interview with Rolling Stone, Elton said he wrote and recorded six of the songs in a single day.  This sort of explosive genius is reminiscent of the early-seventies Honkey Château days when he and Bernie had no idea that great work was supposed to take time!

The new album is being produced by T-Bone Burnett and is set for a fall release.  In recent years, Elton has waited at least three years between studio recordings, rather than two.  His last several works have garnered critical success, beginning with Peachtree Road (2004), The Captain and the Kid (2006), and The Union with Leon Russell (2010).  Below is the working track list for the new work!  Can’t wait.

1. Oscar Wilde Gets Out
2. A Town Called Jubilee
3. Can’t Stay Alone Tonight
4. My Quicksand
5. Candlelit Bedroom
6. The Ballad Of Blind Tom
7. The New Fever Waltz
8. 5th Avenue
9. Mexican Vacation (Kids In The Candlelight)
10. The Diving Board

Bill Trager
4 April 2012
Fort Worth, Texas

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Author: Bill Trager

I live in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *